MWUN Partners NARTO To Eradicate Gridlock On Port Access Road


In the bid to further manage the menace on port corridors in Nigeria, the Maritime Workers’ Union of Nigeria (MWUN) and the Nigerian Association of Road Transport Owners (NARTO) has on Wednesday joined forces in finding lasting solution.

The collaboration is also intended to cater for the welfare of members of both parties and engaged security agencies for the betterment of cargo movement in and out of the seaports.

Also to create driver/dockworkers welfare, revenue generation, protection of members of both organisations and creation of insurance for Workers’ welfare scheme.

Among the terms of reference of the collaboration include establishing the presence of both parties in all dry ports, seaports and jetties across the nation.

Speaking during the inauguration of the committee, President General of the Maritime Workers’ Union of Nigeria (MWUN), Comrade Adewale Adeyanju called on the management committee members to learn from the mistakes of past during previous collaboration among stakeholders and to drive the new initiative to a success.

He also charged both organisations to be focused and utilise the opportunity judiciously for maximum benefits of the members

Also speaking , the National President of NARTO, Alhaji Yusuf Lawal Othman expressed delight over the partnership while expressing confidence in the success of the venture

He challenged the management committee members to observe due diligence in the course of carrying out their assignments.

The followings were selected as the Board of Trustees of the venture: Alhaji Yusuf Lawal Othman, Comrade Prince Adewale Adeyanju, Ibrahim Ohize, Abubakar Bello, Patrick Onyegbulen, Ifeanyi Mazeli.

Others include; Aloga Ogbogo, Kasim Ibrahim, Salami Ganiyu and Ogunyele.

For successful driving of the collaboration, a management committee of twelve members drawn from both organisations was immediately constituted

Members include; Stephen Okafor as Chairman, Abdullahi Eroje as Co-Chairman, Ajayi Ayokunle as the Secretary while Hananiya Anderson will serve as Assistant Secretary

Other members are: Ibrahim Ohize, Abubakar Bello, Kayode Odunowo, Patrick Oyegbulem, Akeem Ekundayo, Elder Basset Udoh, Abdullahi Inuwa and Cecilia Otobo.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here